MONDAY

GEORGE STRAIT STORY

In case you missed all of the Internet post about the largest stadium crowd ever for a concert, here is a short version of hearing 111,000 backup singers.

In 1983 I took Carol to Houston for our anniversary. It was common for us to go several times in the summer to see the Astros or to see concerts. I have a list of the more than 400 concerts that we have attended since 1970 which included 53 members of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. I have recorded them all for my children’s children.

My reservations were at the Sheriden Hotel Greenway Plaza which is on the Southwest Freeway in Houston. The Summit was across the street, which is where the Rockets played, and they had many great concerts over the years. It is now a church.

I had no idea that George Strait was playing on Saturday night when we arrived on Friday, but the big sign told us so. So, I walked across the street to the ticket office, and it said “Sold-Out”. You would expect that even in 1983, so we checked into the hotel. I always tell my waiter in restaurants and hotel managers when it is a special occasion. You would be surprised how often you get a free dessert, or a room upgrade if it is a classy place.

I told the hotel clerk about out anniversary and Carol loved “King George” who at age 30 with his starched white long sleeve shirts and Wrangler jeans put most of us guys in our place. George had parked two huge travel busses out in the front of the hotel, so I knew he was there. The hotel clerk said George was staying in the top suite of the hotel and his manager was coming down soon and he would talk to him. In about an hour, the phone rang, and it was the hotel clerk. He said the manager asked George how many family members were coming to the concert. The Summit had given George 8 seats on the front row to use, and he said only four were being used. He invited Carol and I to be his guest.

Not only did we sit on Row 1 with his wife, sister, and brother, but in the final song, he walked over to me and tossed his big black Cowboy hat. I caught it in my hand but two guys behind me jumped the chairs and took me down to the concrete floor. One broke his nose and was bleeding all over my hand that was on the hat. I wrestled for about 60 seconds and gave up. If they want it that bad, they can have it. I still regret it to this day that I didn’t fight for it. George’s manager came over after the event and invited us backstage, but we stupidly declined.

If you know anything about his background, his days at Texas State and playing Gruene Hall in Gruene, then you know there are no finer gentleman in the business. He is semi-retired but can still sell tickets better than any country singer in history. Thank You George for your kindness and a lifelong memory. We have seen him three times, but none compared to that first time.

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL ALL-STAR BALLOT

I filled out my MLB All-Star ballot on Sunday and I can honestly say this is the weakest group of players I have ever voted on. There are 5 second basemen batting under .200. Offense is really down this year, and it is because of the turnover of new players entering the league as well as more hard throwers than any time in history. Seattle has four starters that average over 95 mph per fastball. Closers are coming in throwing 97-102. Where has the power gone?

Look for yourself!

https://www.mlb.com/all-star/ballot?affiliateId=asb-trending-mlb-2024

One thing for certain, the July event will not touch the heyday of MLB baseball. In 1968 the All-Star game was held in Houston at the Astrodome.

American LeagueNational League
OrderPlayerTeamPositionOrderPlayerTeamPosition
1Jim FregosiAngelsSS1Willie MaysGiantsOF
2Rod CarewTwins2B2Curt FloodCardinalsOF
3Carl YastrzemskiRed SoxOF3Willie McCoveyGiants1B
4Frank HowardSenatorsOF4Hank AaronBravesOF
5Willie HortonTigersOF5Ron SantoCubs3B
6Harmon KillebrewTwins1B6Tommy HelmsReds2B
7Bill FreehanTigersC7Jerry GroteMetsC
8Brooks RobinsonOrioles3B8Don KessingerCubsSS
9Luis TiantIndiansP9Don DrysdaleDodgersP

The National League had Steve Carleton, Sandy Kofax, Bob Gibson, Don Drysdale, Juan Marichal, and Tom Seaver. This is 6 of the greatest pitchers ever. Just a few years earlier you would have seen an even more impressive batting order with guys like Pete Rose, Roberto Clemente, and Mickey Mantle.

WILL WADE BASKETBALL CAMPS

6 thoughts on “MONDAY

  1. Julie bought us seats in A&Ms Legacy Club as a combination Birthday/ Father’s Day gift. To see the King.

    it was indeed an epic event. Unbelievable how good of a job A&M find managing having 110,000 plus in the stadium and on campus. I know the regularly do 102,000 for football. But those extra 8 or 9 thousand on the floor was a sight to see.

    Like

  2. Good…but not George Strait Good! I know one thing you never wanna come out of the McDonald’s Drive Thru on Amarillo Blvd, windows down on a early Friday evening! ha ha I just wanted my 2 Big Macs, large fry and Diet Coke! ha ha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment